Join IBEW 569: Call (858) 569-8900

Current Member

Loading Events
April 29 @ 8:30 am - 5:30 pm

Progressive Labor Summit 2023

IBEW 569 is sponsoring the Progressive Labor Summit 2023 taking place on April 29th at the Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter.

It’s a one-day event in San Diego bringing together the Labor community with activists & leaders to empower all working people by building stronger understanding, knowledge, skills, and partnerships to tackle the broader social challenges we are facing today.

We have 15 tickets available for IBEW 569 members to attend for free (breakfast, lunch, reception, and t-shirt included!).

Please email Gretchen if you are interested in receiving a sponsored ticket:


8:30 AM – Registration opens; continental breakfast served

9:00 AM – Plenary session panels

  • Shop Talk: A New Era of Labor Meets A New Generation of Labor Reporting – Paola Rodeles (Jobs to Move America), Mel Buer (The Real News), Lucy Diavolo (National Nurses United); Moderator: Diana Hussein (UNITE HERE)
  • Workers in the Fight: Personal Stories From Workers Winning in San Diego – David Acosta (Firefighers 2180), Ed Figueroa (IATSE 122), Hayden Gore (High Tech High Education Collective), Ed Wallace (IBEW 569/HoMEwork), Andrea Muir (UNAC/UHCP); Moderator: Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher (CA Labor Fed)

12:00 PM – Lunch program

  • Whose House? Our House: Maximizing Public Benefit from Housing on Public Land – Brigette Browning (San Diego & Imperial Counties Labor Council), Todd Gloria (City of San Diego), Rudy Gonzalez (San Francisco Building Trades Council), Cody Petterson (San Diego Unified School District), Jeremy Smith (State Building Trades Council of CA); Moderator: Marcus Bush (City of National City)

1:15 PM – Breakout Sessions, Round One

  • You Say You Got a Real Solution: Turning Vision into Results-Oriented Activism – Khalid Alexander (Pillars of the Community), Laila Aziz (Pillars of the Community), Gretchen Newsom (IBEW 569); Moderator: Steve Padilla (CA State Senate)
  • Meeting Workers Where They Meme: Content Creation To Build Worker Power – Brett Banditelli (Fight for 15/SEIU), John “Union Drip” Elward (Teamsters 665), Kalina Newman (AFL-CIO), Elizabeth Straeter (UFW); Moderator: Diana Hussein (UNITE HERE)
  • A Hard Rain’s Gonna Fall: Climate Resiliency *Is* Economic Resiliency – Joe LaCava (San Diego Community Power), Cristina Marquez (IBEW 569), Norman Rogers (USW 675), Veronica Wilson (Labor Network for Sustainability); Moderator: Jim Miller (AFT 1931)
  • Community Schools to Build Power, Fight Privatization, and Transform Public Education – Rosi Martinez (CVE), David Goldberg (CTA), Esperanza Martinez (UTLA); Moderator: Kyle Weinberg (SDEA)
  • “Is This Good?” Breaking Down 2022 Election Results and Opportunities for the Future – Sean Elo-Rivera (City of San Diego), Paloma Aguirre (City of Imperial Beach), Cipriano Vargas (Vista Unified School Board); Moderator: Eva Posner (Evinco)

2:45 PM – Breakout Sessions, Round Two

  • We’d All Love to See the Plan: Crafting and Passing Worker Policies for a Union San Diego – Raul Campillo (City of San Diego), Kyra Greene (Center on Policy Initiatives), Lucas O’Connor (Progressive Labor Alliance); Moderator: Satomi Rash-Ziegler (San Diego & Imperial Counties Labor Council)
  • Nursing Healthcare Back From the Brink: How Workers are Organizing to Improve Care for All – Amy Helton (Scripps Health), Izeah Garcia (NUHW); Moderator: Akilah Weber
  • Immigrant Solidarity is Worker Solidarity: How Immigration Drives Organizing – Laura Moreno (Pomona Economic Opportunity Center), Arcela Nunez (Universidad Popular), Christian Ramirez (SEIU-USWW), Ian Seruelo (SDIRC/APALA); Moderator: Tom Wong (US Immigration Policy Center)
  • We Build the Middle Class: Building Lasting Careers with Union Apprenticeships – Jason Shanley (HoMEwork), Jenifer Arce (Southwestern College ARP), Lorenzo Miles (SMART 206), Mike Swanson (Ironworkers 229); Moderator: Michael O’Brien (IBEW 569)
  • Out of the Cars and Into the Streets: Building Transportation Systems for All – Corinna Contreras (Climate Action Campaign), Jose Franco (Environmental Health Coalition), Gretchen Newsom (IBEW 569), Rosa Olascoaga (County of San Diego); Moderator: Brittany Bailey (City of San Diego)

4:00 PM – Closing Plenary

4:30 PM – Reception

*Some panelists pending confirmation

This event has passed.